Getting ready to talk about the Hugo Finalists!

I’m sure you all have seen it, but if not, the 2016 Hugo Finalists have been announced as well as the 1941 Retro Hugo Finalists. So, in my hopes to find a least one space on the intertubes where it is 100% about the works, I’m open to having discussion of them here if people are interested.

I’m sure you all have seen it, but if not, the 2016 Hugo Finalists have been announced as well as the 1941 Retro Hugo Finalists.

There will be inevitable debate and rancor over slating and such, but this year, personally, that doesn’t matter to me. Like I commented over at File770 (in before crash!), the “slate” was such a mixed bag to begin with, that slated or not doesn’t seem like a big deal when deciding on how to vote. (May be a very big deal when it comes to approving EPH, but that’s a discussion for elsewhere – an important one, but not the focus here).

So, in my hopes to find a least one space  on the intertubes where it is 100% about the works, I’m open to having discussion of them here if people are interested. (Any comments that even use the word “slate” will probably be moderated. There’s plenty of other places to discuss that aspect of the Hugos.) 🙂 There was a small crowd that was following the recommendations here by the end and I am no longer working two full time jobs, so I might actually be able to stay on top of this! I especially like the idea of having Focus Weeks since many categories often get overlooked.

There are 11 Retro categories and 17 non-Retro. Considering how few of my nominations made it to the final ballot, I know I need to track down a lot of these works. Some stuff is easily accessible to look at now, some stuff the Voting Packet will help with (if there is one, remember, nothing is promised with that!). I don’t see a deadline for voting yet, but last year it closed on July 31. So, assuming something similar, there is about 3 months. So we will have to double up some, but not unreasonable.

If you know of any of the nominated works that are available online for free (or behind common subscription walls – like how many of the Dramatic Presentations are available on Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, or other major subscription packages for example), please comment below. I will compile a list and post it later this week. If works are only available for payment, I will include those as well (because authors deserve to get paid, of course). Thank you!

3 thoughts on “Getting ready to talk about the Hugo Finalists!”

  1. Glad to see this post! I also want to track down as much as possible in order to get prepared for voting. As you said, we can’t just rely on the Voters Packet.

    Like

  2. Right now, I am a seething mass of opinions concerning the 1941 Retro Hugos, mostly because I’ve actually read much of that stuff, and have Strong Views on it. (What happened to the Best Related Work category? I sweated blood tracking down five nominees for that! – Possibly everyone else had more sense than me.)

    Eh, well, I’ll calm down eventually. There are a couple of things which I’m sorry not to see on either list, but that’s democracy in action, I guess. I have only a little research to do on 1941, but the modern one… well, I shall do exactly as I did last year; read, and judge on (my perception of) merit.

    Like

  3. I got more and more depressed as the finalists were announced but by now, I am just insanely happy to see both The Fifth Season and Uprooted up for Best Novel. Uprooted was my absolute favorite book of last year – until I read The Fifth Season. Ranking them will be difficult.
    I’m totally open to the Neal Stephenson (although I’ve never managed to finish any of his novels in the past) and the Jim Butcher. I like his Codex Alera books, but I’ve heard very mixed things about The Cinder Spires, even from Butcher fans. We’ll see, I guess.

    I dread the Best Related Work reading, though…

    Like

Leave a Reply

