2016 Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

Ok, back to business! Still a few weeks left in voting, so here are the finalists for basically Best TV Episode (keep hoping to see some short films on there someday, but TV shows are just too widely popular).

Doctor Who: “Heaven Sent”
Grimm: “Headache”
Jessica Jones: “AKA Smile”
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic: “The Cutie Map” Parts 1 and 2
Supernatural: “Just My Imagination”

So, who is at the top of your list and why?

As always, keep in mind the Comment Rules, and let’s discuss the Hugo finalists!

5 thoughts on “2016 Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)”

  1. Well, Doctor Who “Heaven Sent” is the only one I’ve actually watched so far, and it wasn’t my favorite episode of the season. Although I did like it so the other shows will have to impress to top it.

    Like

  2. I loved Heaven Sent and I’m happy to see it on the ballot. It’d be in my top 5 episodes of the revived series and is definitely award-worthy.

    I really liked Jessica Jones, but the finale wasn’t its best episode IMO. If it’d been “AKA WWJD” or “AKA Sin Bin”, I’d have voted for it above Heaven Sent, but not the finale.

    I’m not a fan of gory horror, so I don’t think I’d like Grimm or Supernatural (but if I’ve got the wrong impression please tell me).

    Like

  3. Yes, there does seem to be a favoring “big” episodes, especially finales in nominations rather than especially well written ones. In my experience, the most original episodes with the best stories tend to be earlier in the seasons when they have a tighter focus. But I can understand the draw of a fan seeing a episode like a finale that is packed with big events and wanting to recognize that. The problem is that the importance and weight of those big events are easily lost on voters who aren’t already a fan of the series. So a fan sees it as a huge episode with series shaking events, buts outsider sees it as cluttered with too many things going on and no idea why any of it matters. *shrug*

    Sorry, I will get off my soapbox now. I already watch 3 of the series (Doctor Who, Supernatural, and Jessica Jones) and think they all have award worthy work, but like the rest of you said, I’m not sure these are the best episodes of those shows. (Disclosure – I’m still getting caught on them, so I haven’t watched all of the nominated episodes yet. Gotta get watching!)

    I would suggest giving this episode of Supernatural a chance, however. The show can be gory at times but from what I have read this isn’t one of them. Supernatural has a history of mixing in silly, just plain fun episodes, and this is one of them (one of the main character’s childhood imaginary friends comes to life).

    Also, Supernatural does a great job of not really being a show about fighting monsters. It is really about the two brothers and their relationship. The monster hunting is the framing device for that. A lot of shows try to be more than their basic concept, but Supernatural actually pulls it off very well. You could almost tell the same story as powerfully by removing all the monsters. It’s really about how these two brothers who have only known a world of terrible things since childhood just have each other to rely on – despite all the baggage any two brothers would have, especially growing up in a messed up situation. So even though on the surface the show is about fighting monsters, it is really about family.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for that, I’ll try the Supernatural episode.

      (And btw, I may have mistyped – I meant that Heaven Sent would be in my top 5 of the post-2005 series. I definitely think it’s the best episode of Series 9.)

      Like

  4. Jessica Jones is best encountered as a full season – which is what I nominated it as – so a nom for one episode hampers it a bit. I suspect I’ll vote for it as it’s the show that most surprised and delighted me last year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

