Best Fan Writer, 1941 & 2016

Unfortunately, given the compressed time frame, we need to have multiple a day. So today is Best Fan Writer for both 1941 and 2016.

1941 Best Fan Writer

  • Forrest J Ackerman
  • Ray Bradbury
  • H. P. Lovecraft
  • Bob Tucker
  • Harry Warner

2016 Best Fan Writer

  • Douglas Ernst
  • Mike Glyer
  • Morgan Holmes
  • Jeffro Johnson
  • Shamus Young

So, who is at the top of your list and why?

As always, keep in mind the Comment Rules, and let’s discuss the Hugo finalists!

One thought on “Best Fan Writer, 1941 & 2016”

  1. As an F770 fan I’m casting a partisan vote for Mike, but I think it’s warranted for the sheer dedication of keeping up with fandom and letting the rest of us know what’s going on.
    The other fan writer I was already familiar with is Shamus Young, who writes primarily on video games, although he’s also an tabletop rpg fan and has self-pubbed some fiction. The specific work that gets cited for his nomination is a long-running series on Mass Effect, analysing the story in great detail and generally giving it a bit of a kicking. This is genuine fan writing, but on a rather niche topic. A lot of his other writing doesn’t really qualify for the awards in question, despite being good – any of his articles criticising the games industry tend to be well worth the read.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s